Candidates challenge ROs’ decisions in election tribunals on last day of appeals

PESHAWAR: The candidates of different political parties and independents have challenged the decisions of Returning Officers (ROs) regarding acceptance and rejection of their nomination papers in Election Tribunals of Peshawar High Court (PHC) on the last day of appeals on Friday.

Over a dozen of candidates have filed appeals against decisions of ROs in six Appellate Election Tribunals that will dispose of all appeals by June 27. The tribunals have fixed June 25 for hearing of all these appeals.

At Principal seat of the PHC, Justice Syed Afsar Shah and Justice Musarrat Hilali will take up appeals of the candidates of National and Provincial Assemblies of Peshawar region.

Justice Lal Khan at Abbottabad bench will take up appeals of candidates of Hazara region, Justice Mohammad Ghazanfar at Mingora bench for Malakand region, Justice Abdul Shakoor for Bannu region and Justice Ejaz Anwar Khan at DI Khan region respectively.

The candidates affiliated with political parties and independents, who filed appeals including independent candidate Abdul Raheem for PK74 whose nomination papers were rejected by the RO on technical grounds.

Former District Nazim Nowshera and PPP candidate for PK-65 Nowshera, Daud Khan Khattak has also challenged RO decision in Election Tribunal after his nomination papers were rejected on grounds of non-payment to a landowner. Complainant Arsallah Khan has raised a plea before RO that Daud Khattak had purchased land from him and did not pay the required amount of land despite passing of 15 years and prayed for rejection of Daud Khattak’s nomination papers.

Candidate from NA-21, Nawabzada Arsallah Khan has also challenged RO decision who rejected his nomination papers on ground of dual nationality.

Fazal Rabbi, candidate for NA-46 also filed appeal in Election Tribunal against ROs decision, who rejected his nomination papers on technical ground. Fazal Rabbi has filed nomination papers for NA-46 but inadvertently mentioned NA 45 in nomination papers, which led to rejection of his papers.

Gul Sana Din, a candidate for PK 83 Hangu also challenged RO decision for rejecting his nomination papers on ground of non presence of proposer and seconder during scrutiny process of nomination papers.

The candidates for PK46 Mohammad Ali Tarkai, PK 80 Kohat Fayaz Khan and PK 66 Saifullah Khan have also filed appeal in Election Tribunals against ROs’ decisions.

Irfanulah Khan, candidate for PK 71 FR Kohat also challenged ROs’ decision for rejecting his nomination papers on the grounds of not being the voter of this constituency.