Entry of 31 religious scholars banned during Muharram

RAWALPINDI: The district administration, in order to promote religious harmony and control law and order during Muharram has banned the entry of 31 religious scholars in the district.

According to a district government spokesman, Deputy Commissioner Rawalpindi Talat Mahmood Gondal has issued formal orders to stop entry of 31 ulema and Zakreen including Moulana Muavia Azam, Moulana Attaullah, Moulana Masood ur Rehman Usmani, Moulana Aurangzeb Farooqi, Mohammad Irfan Mashadi, Allama Mohammad Yousaf Rizvi, Moulana Abdul ul Razaq, Moulana Abdul Rauf, Moulana Umar Haideri, Moulana Matiullah Rashid, Qari Mohammad Suleman, Moulana Ahed Ludhanvi, Moulana Zia Ullah Shah, Moulana Alam Tariq, Moulana Abdul Rehman, Mufti Kifayat ullah, Mufti Syed Arshad, Moulana Sanaullah Haideri, Moulana Ahmed Shoaib, Moulana Abdul Aziz, Malik Ijaz Hussain, Allama Mohammad Abbas, Moulana Mohammad Iqbal, Moulana Mohammad Nawaz Baloch, Allama Ghulam Shabbir, Moulana Mehdi Wahab, Moulana Mohammad Hussain, Allama Zulfiqar Ali Naqvi and others. 11 Ulema and Zakreen belonging to different schools of thought have also been directed to observe gagging during Muharram. He informed that action in accordance with the law would be taken against the organizers of Majalis in which any banned Alam or Zakir would be invited.

According to CPO, there was no specific security threat regarding Muharram but the police were taking all possible measures to ensure peace during the month. He said, special security arrangements would be made for 109 trouble points in the district.

He said, foolproof security arrangements would be made for Majalis and Muharram processions besides three to four-layer security cover.

He emphasised the need for physical search of individuals participating in Muharram processions and Majalis besides using scanners and walk-through gates.

The display of arms has already been banned and anyone found violating the ban would be booked, he added.