Traffic plan for Ashura Muharram

FAISALABAD: City Traffic Police (CTP) have evolved a comprehensive traffic plan to facilitate people on Ashura-e-Muharram.

According to CTP spokesman, the traffic police have prohibited the entry of vehicular traffic at 12 points by declaring them ‘No Go Areas’ on Ashura day.

Those areas were declared No Go areas include: Kotwali Road Chenab Chowk to Chiniot Bazaar Chowk, Circular Road Chiniot Bazaar Chowk to Gumti Chowk, Railway Road Gumti Chowk to Bank Chowk, Corporation Road Gumti Chowk to Corporation Mor, Imam Bargah Road Jhang Bazaar Chowk to Kothi Tahir Shah Mor Chowk, 8 bazaars around Clock Tower Chowk, Eidgah Chowk to Kotwali Chowk, Zila Council Chowk to Katchery Bazaar Chowk, Nishat Cinema Mor to Dhubi Ghat, Jhang Bazaar Chowk to Imam Bargah Chowk, Kothi Tahir Shah Chowk to Imam Bargah Chowk and Jhal Chowk to Saleemi Chowk.

He said that entire traffic coming from Jhang Road would be diverted from Chenab Chowk to Guru Nanak Pura Morh to Kothi Tahir Shah Chowk to Jinnah Colony Gate towards Jail Road whereas heavy and LTV traffic would be allowed from Chenab Chowk towards Rajbah Road.

Similarly, traffic from Aminpur Road would be diverted from Jinnah Colony Chowk to Jail Road while traffic of Sitiana Road would be diverted from Fish Farm Morh to Jaranwala Road. The heavy and light vehicles of these roads would be diverted from Bolay Di Jhuggi towards PMC Morh and Sheikhupura Road.

Traffic of Sammundri Road would be diverted from Roshanwali Jhang and all bypasses including Makkoana Bypass, Sadhar Bypass would be used for heavy traffic.

The parking facilities will be provided from Morh Kothi Tahir Shah up to Dairy Farm Morh, GC University Ground Gate No.4, Rajbah Road Godown side, Police Line Petrol Pump upto Nisar Akbar Chowk and Kothi Tahir Shah Morh up to Bakery Road. Only those vehicles would be allowed for entry near Clock Tower Chowk to whom special entry passes were issued, he added.

Spokesman further said that 690 traffic wardens and 102 traffic constables under the supervision of 52 sector incharges and 3 Deputy Superintendents Police (DSPs) traffic will perform duty from 6:00 a.m. to culmination of traffic rush till late night on Ashura Day.

He appealed to the general public to cooperate with traffic police to ensure problem free travelling in Faisalabad city on Ashura Day. In this connection, CTP helpline 1915 will remain active and the people can contact it in case of any traffic emergency.