152 parliamentarians submit yearly assets statements so far: ECP

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday said that 152 parliamentarians had submitted their yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, spouses and dependents so far with the commission.

According to an official of ECP, out of total, 14 Senators, 31 members National Assembly, 41 members Punjab Assembly, 29 members Sindh Assembly, 26 members KPK Assembly and 11 members Balochistan Assembly had submitted their yearly statements.

He said that still 1,015 parliamentarians did not submit their yearly statements included 88 Senators, 308 members National Assembly, 328 members Punjab Assembly, 139 members Sindh Assembly, 98 members KPK Assembly and 54 members Balochistan Assembly.

He said that presently there were total 1,174 parliamentarians included 104 Senators, 342 members National Assembly, 371 members Punjab Assembly, 168 members Sindh Assembly, 124 members KPK Assembly and 85 members Balochistan Assembly.

He said that still seven seats were lying vacant in Senate, National and Provincial Assemblies.

He said that the commission had directed the members of the parliament and provincial assemblies to submit yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, spouses and dependents by September 30.

He added defaulters would be suspended from respective seats of assemblies as this was a mandatory requirement under Section 42A of the Representation of the People Act, 1976 and Section 25A of the Senate (Election) Act, 1975.

He said that the members of the Senate, National Assembly and Provincial Assemblies of the Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan had been asked to submit with the Election Commission Secretariat yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, their spouses and dependents duly signed on each page of the form by September 30, 2017.

He said that the prescribed forms were available, free of cost, from the Election Commission Secretariat, Islamabad and offices of Provincial Election Commissioners in each province.

He added forms had already been sent to the Senate Secretariat, National Assembly Secretariat and Secretariats of all the four Provincial Assemblies for facility of parliamentarians.