722 parliamentarians submit assets statements with ECP

ISLAMABAD: As many as 722 parliamentarians have submitted their yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, spouses and dependents so far with the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

According to an ECP official, so far 81 senators, 225 members of the National Assembly, 197 members of the Punjab Assembly, 101 members of the Sindh Assembly, 69 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 49 members of Balochistan Assembly had submitted their yearly statements with the ratio of 61.50 percent.

He said that still 445 parliamentarians did not submit their yearly statements included 21 senators, 114 MNAs, 172 Punjab Assembly members, 67 Sindh Assembly members, 55 KPK Assembly members and 16 Balochistan Assembly members.

He said presently there were total 1,174 parliamentarians included 104 senators, 342 MNAs, 371 Punjab Assembly members, 168 Sindh Assembly members, 124 KPK Assembly members and 65 Balochistan Assembly members.

He said that still seven seats were lying vacant in Senate, national and provincial assemblies.

He said the commission had directed the members of the parliament and provincial assemblies to submit yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, spouses and dependents.

The defaulters would be suspended from respective seats of assemblies as this was a mandatory requirement under Section 42A of the Representation of the People Act, 1976 and Section 25A of the Senate (Election) Act, 1975.

He said the members of the Senate, National Assembly and provincial assemblies of the Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan had been asked to submit with the Election Commission Secretariat yearly statements of assets and liabilities of their own, their spouses and dependents on the prescribed form.

He said the forms were available, free of charge, from the Election Commission Secretariat, Islamabad and offices of Provincial Election Commissioners in each province.

He added forms had already been sent to the Senate Secretariat, National Assembly Secretariat and secretariats of all the four provincial assemblies for facility of parliamentarians.