National Reconciliatory Council for promoting harmony in country

ISLAMABAD:Unity of Ummah Conference Wednesday constituted National Reconciliatory Council for promoting harmony among various segments of society and promoting peace, tranquility in the country during the holy month of Muharram ul Haram.

The ‘Unity of Ummah Conference’ in its meeting elected Chairman Pakistan Ulema Council (PUC) Hafiz Mohammad Tahir Ashrafi as chairman National Reconciliatory Council for promoting harmony among Muslims and ensuring peace and tranquility during the holy month of Muharram-ul-Haram, said a press release.

Ulema and religious scholars of various school of thoughts also elected Mohammad Musawar Abbasi as General Secretary of the National Reconciliatory Council.

The conference also adopted a Ten Point Code of Conduct and constituted a Monitoring Cells for ensuring peace during the holy month of Muharram-ul-Haram. The conference chaired by Hafiz Mohammad Tahir Ashrafi, issued a Joint Declaration.

National Reconciliatory Council would help eradicating extremism, sectarian violence, promotion of interfaith harmony and interfaith dialogue.

The Joint Declaration urged the government to implement ‘National Action Plan’ for annihilating sectarian anarchy from the country.

The Joint Declaration condemned Muslims’ genocide in Myanmar by demanding the government of Pakistan to close Myanmar’s Embassy in Pakistan.

Declaration urged religious leaders to disassociate themselves from all elements accomplice in the menaces of sectarian violence, terrorism and extremism.

Any scholar, orator or cleric in their public sermons will not use sacrilegious remarks for prophets, family and wives of the Holy Prophet Mohammad (PBUH), caliphs, Imams and about Imam Mehdi and any religious sect will not support or endorse any blasphemer.

Any fellow Muslim should not be declared ‘infidel’ and any Muslim or non-Muslim should not be declared ‘worthy of killing’ and people of Pakistan and believers of all religious sects will live their lives as per rights of Constitution of Pakistan.

There should be complete ban on usage of loudspeaker except ‘Azan’ and ‘Juma Sermon’. While people of all religions and religious sects will use loudspeakers for their religious congregations with permission of local administration.

There should be complete ban on publication of violent religious content, hate-speeches, outrageous literature, books based on hateful content, CDs, websites carrying seditious content.

Similarly there should be complete ban on hurting and outrageous religious slogans and no sacrilegious remarks will be made about Imams, Mujtahids and Islamic Jurisprudents.

Joint religious congregations will be held to demonstrate solidarity within all religious sects.

It is responsibility of the government to ensure protection to the sacred places and worship places of the minorities living in Pakistan; therefore government of Pakistan should handle strictly all the elements accomplice in posing threats to the minorities and worship places of the minorities and their properties in the country.

The Conference also appealed to Media to play their effective role for eradication of sectarian violence and for promotion of interfaith harmony not only during the days of Ashura but all over the year.

The Joint declaration also demonstrated solidarity with Muslims of Myanmar, Kashmir, Palestine and Syria.

On this occasion, central office-bearers of ‘National Reconciliatory Council’ were also elected.

Maulana Mufti Mohammad Zia Madni and Maulana Qasim Qasmi was elected as Vice-Chairmen, Mohammad Musawar Abbasi Advocate as Secretary General, Sardar Abdul Manan Zahid as Secretary Information, Allama Tahir-ul-Hassan as President Punjab and Maulana Asad Zikriya as President Sindh.

Maulana Abdul Hameed Watto, Maulana Nauman Hashir, Maulana Tahir Aqeel Awan, Maulana Hafeez-ur-Rehman, Allama Syed Waqar-ul-Hassan Naqvi, Maulana Attaullah Shahab, Allama Tahir-ul-Hassan, Maulana Farooq Kashmiri, Justice ® Shafqat Abbasi, Maulana Qasim Qasmi, Maulana Tahir Rasheed Tanoli, Agha Inayat Shirazi, Allama Agha Mir, Maulana Mufti Rashid Mehmood, Maulana Saifullah Saifi, Musawar Abbasi Advocate, Sharjeel Anwar Rao and Kashif Chaudhry also addressed the conference.