Four matches decided on day two of NBP T20 Blind Cricket Trophy

ISLAMABAD:AJK, Islamabad, Lahore and Gujranwala registered emphatic wins in the ongoing National Bank of Pakistan T20 Blind Cricket Trophy 2022 (Grade-1) in Islamabad on Friday.

In the fifth league match of the event between AJK and Okara at Bhutto Shaheed Cricket Ground, AJK won the toss and decided to bowl first. Okara posted 165 runs on the board in the allotted 20 overs for the loss of just wicket. Umar Daraz once again put up an impressive show with the bat and made an unbeaten 83 runs off 62 balls. Faseehullah was the second highest run-scorer with 56 runs off 38 balls.

In reply, AJK chased the target for the loss of three wickets in 16.4 overs. Nisar Ali got out early after scoring 21 runs but Faisal Mehmood stood tall on the other end and guided his team home with unbeaten 74 runs off 49 balls. Iftikhar Tiger claimed two wickets for Okara.

In the sixth League match at PAF Cricket Ground, E-9 Islamabad outplayed Abbottabad by eight wickets. Batting first, Abbottabad made 138 runs for eight in 20 overs. Naeemullah and Asnaad Khan made 37 and 23 runs, respectively. Shahzaib Haider was the star with the ball as he took three wickets for 21 runs in his four-over spell.

In reply, Islamabad reached the target in just 13 overs for the loss of two wickets. Akmal Hayyat 48, Anees Javed 43 and Shahzaib Haider 36 runs were the main contributors. Muhammad Shoaib and Irfanullah claimed one wicket apiece.

In the seventh League match between Peshawar and Lahore at Bhutto Shaheed Cricket Ground G-7, Lahore won the toss and put Peshawar into bat. Sanaullah and Mohsin Khan played superb knocks to guide Peshawar to accumulate 193 runs on the board for the loss of two wickets in 20 overs. Sanauallah was the highest scorer with 83 runs off 61 balls and Mohsin made 66 runs off 45 balls. Muhammad Salman was the only successful bowler to claim a wicket for Peshawar.

Lahore lost quick wickets early in their innings but Muhammad Salman exhibited a standout performance as he made 50 runs off 24 balls, giving his side a boost. His wicket opened the gate for Peshawar, but Muhammad Rizwan played sensibly for his 39 runs. Lahore reached the target for the loss of eight wickets in 18.5 overs. Mohsin Khan grabbed three wickets.

In the eighth League match at PAF Cricket Ground, E-9 Gujranwala outclassed Bahawalpur by chased a mammoth total in a thriller. Muhammad Akram’s ton helped Gujranwala to win a nail-biter. Earlier, Bahawalpur batted first and piled up a huge total of 233 runs on the board for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Muhammad Rashid played an extraordinary inning of 88 runs off 37 balls, featuring 17 (4’s). He was well supported by Moeen Aslam, who scored 61 runs off 43 balls. Muhammad Zafar’s 16-ball 32 runs innings lifted the run rate in the death overs. Israr Hassan was the pick amongst the bowlers as he took four wickets for 31 runs.

In reply, the master-class innings of Muhammad Akram helped Gujranwala to register a dramatic win. Akram scored unbeaten 137 runs off 77 balls featuring 17 (4’s). Talha Iqbal made quick 29 runs. Gujranwala chased the target in 19.3 overs for the loss of three wickets.