Funds distributed to districts on basis of population, minister told PA

LAHORE: Provincial Minister for Zakat and Ushr Malik Nadeem Kamaran said on Thursday that funds were distributed on the basis of population of districts and different percentages had been fixed under which financial assistance was given.

He said this while responding to a supplementary question of MPA Chaudhry Ashraf Ali Ansari during the question and answer session in the Punjab Assembly.

To another supplementary question regarding audit,the minister said internal audit was conducted and if any complaint received then special audit was conducted.

Parliamentary Secretary Finance Rana Babar Hussain, while responding to a supplementary question posed by MPA Lt Col (Retd) Sardar Ayub Khan, said local government and community development had sent a summary to the chief minister for giving a service structure to paramedic staff of the city district government and district council dispensaries. He added that a decision in this regard was expected soon.

Nadeem Kamran, while responding to a supplementary question of Mian Tahir, said 1,387 Zakat and Ushr committees were functional in district Faisalabad and he requested MPA Mian Tahir to highlight any

committee if it was not functional then legal action would be taken.

The minister, while responding to the supplementary question of MPA Faiza Ahmad Malik, said the Home department gave clearance certificate to Madaris and then they got registered.

He added funds were given to hospitals so that deserving patients could get health facilities.

Parliamentary Secretary Finance Rana Babar Hussain responding to the query of MPA Ch Ashraf Ali Ansari said loans were given to different companies and departments so that the best facilities could be provided to people.

Later, Opposition Leader in Punjab Assembly Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed spoke on a point of order to which slogans started from the opposition and the treasury members.

The quorum was pointed out and the session was adjourned till tomorrow 9:00am.

The session started at 11:30am with Punjab Assembly Speaker Rana Mohammad Iqbal Khan in the chair.