ICC Men’s T20 WC 2021 prize money details announced

ISLAMABAD: The winners of the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup 2021 would take home a winners’ cheque of US $1.6 million while the runners up would get half that amount, the International Cricket Council announced on Sunday.

All 16 competing teams would receive part of the US $ 5.6m allocated as prize money for the tournament, which would be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14, said a press release issued here.

The two losing semi-finalists would receive US $ 400, 000 each from the games taking place on 10 and 11 November.

As in 2016, there would be a bonus amount for every match the teams which win the Super 12 stage. The victors in each of the 30 games in that phase would this time win US $ 40, 000, a total pot of US $ 1, 200, 000.

The teams confirmed to be competing in the Super 12 stage were Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies.

The eight teams whose ICC Men’s T20 World Cup campaigns ended at that stage would automatically receive US $ 70, 000 each, totally US $ 560, 000.

The same structure was in place for the first-round victories – with US $ 40, 000 available to those who win each of the 12 games, amounting to US $ 480, 000.

The four teams knocked out in the first round would take US $ 40, 000 each from an overall US $ 160, 000.

Teams whose campaigns began in the first round were Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, there would be two scheduled Drinks Intervals in each ICC Men’s T20 World Cup game. They would last for two minutes, 30 seconds and would be taken at the midpoint of each innings.